Week 2: “Nevertheless not as I will…”

“But as thou wilt” (Matthew 26:39).

This missionary work truly is Christ’s work. Every time I start falling in sleep during class (doesn’t actually happen that often. PROMISE) I remind myself that this is His work, and that if I do His will, I cannot fail on this mission. I still LOVE this work no matter how hard it gets.

Week two in the MTC was one big, fat adventure, so I apologize if I leave out some interesting details haha.

We got some new upstairs neighbors this week: BATS. So we had to leave our lovely 17M building, and trek all the way across campus to the not so lovely, but still very nice 13M building that was very recently inhabited by Elders….. But hey. It was just practice for transfers.

One of the biggest blessings this week was that we had CHICK FIL A for dinner on Monday. PRAISE. That was the happiest my taste buds have been in the last two weeks eating at the cafeteria here.

This week I also learned a ton more about the Spirit, and the biggest thing I realized is that the Spirit is only with you when you seek it and are obedient. I’ve had some of the awesomest spiritual promptings, and I am just so filled with joy all the time bc of the Spirit. I LOVE BEING A MISSIONARY.

Yesterday we taught a volunteer member from Argentina, and it was just a reality check. I COULDN’T UNDERSTAND HALF OF WHAT SHE SAID. All the other teachers and Spanish speakers here learned “Mexican Spanish,” and it is not Argentine Spanish at all.
We got a new investigator this week named Diana. Technically we don’t know if she is a member of the Church or not, so we might be teaching a REAL LIFE INVESTIGATOR. Anyways in our lesson, Diana just kept saying that there was no way that God could love us. She said she believes in God, but He doesn’t love us. And my heart just broke, because for me God is just one big being full of love. I feel His love everyday. Everything He created denotes that He loves us. Most importantly, “God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life” (John 3:16). How could we doubt His love if we believe in Him? I promise that God loves each and every one of us. The easiest kind of prayer for Him to answer is the one where we ask Him if He loves us. He will answer that in one million ways.

I’m still in awe at the blessings I receive everyday as a missionary. God loves you all. I love you all!

Con Amor,
Hermana Hong

sam_0078
Temple on P day
mtc-district-at-temple
MTC District minus 2
old-batty-room
Hermanas, 2 are in another district in their zone
new-no-bat-room
New room with no bats. They made a sign that said “No bats welcome here, but God invites all to come unto Him.” Then they hung it on their door.
sam_0079
Spanish scriptures
sam_0092
ARGENTINA!!!
sam_0095
Lisi at the map

SAM_0094.JPG

Leave a Reply

