Week 10: “Yea, I know that I am nothing;”

“Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles we have wrought in this land, for which we will praise his name forever (Alma 26:12).” God is everything. I saw so many miracles this week! Yay for missionary work 🙂

 

To start out we met this lady the other day, and we were talking and asked if we could visit her and share our message, and she was like YEAH. So we visited her earlier this week, and her “husband” was there (no one here is married lol). Turns out he is a pastor. LOLOLOL. We invited them to come to the Elders’ baptism last Saturday, and they came so we’ll see where they go with the gospel lol.

We had “divisiones” this week, and it was awesome. I want to work so much harder! We saw miracles with the STLs too. We were supposed to return to Federal Friday night, but they sold out of the bus tickets before we could buy some, so we ended up staying until the next day. In those extra hours we worked hard. Hermana Andino and I walked for an hour and a half to the end of their area to visit a contact they never have time to visit. And she was so happy to see us missionaries! There is definitely a reason to everything in this work!

Another awesome moment from this week was our lesson yesterday with the eternal investigator, Ricardo Basai. He has been an investigator on and off for over twenty years. We visited him a couple weeks ago, and we were determined yesterday to teach him a really powerful lesson. So we studied and prayed hard for him and our lesson, and we invited a member too, so basically perfect set up for a lesson! When we got to the lesson, we were so ready. Then he said something that reminded us of a scripture in Mosiah 18:9, which talks about helping other people and serving God. And he was like, I want to do that in my life! And we were like sweeeeeeeet, because the next verse says something along the lines of “if you want to do these things, what impedes you from getting baptised?” OOOOOOOOOOO FUE PERFECTO. THE SPIRIT WAS SO STRONG!!!!! Then our member friend bore the strongest, most perfect testimony! Ricardo was like “I think I want to get baptised, but I don’t know if I’m ready.” So we gave him a challenge to read the Book of Mormon everyday and pray to know if it is true. We are going to visit him on Sunday (MY BIRTHDAY), so pray for us and Ricardo! Also I want to invite you all to take that same challenge, because it is good for the soul.

Speaking of my birthday…. Thanks for all the birthday shout outs. You are all awesome. Can’t believe this is my last email as a teenager whaaaaaaaaaaaaat.

Also I went to two “chinos,” grocery stores owned by Chinese people, and my heart was so happy 🙂 🙂 🙂

I have lots of pics to send, but my computer isn’t cooperating, so I will try to send them in a minute.

Sister Elisyn Kay Hong

 (mom edit:  I don’t know who the young women are by name, but this is what Lisi said “PICS WITH LAURA, NAO, Y VALE. LOVE THE YW IN MY RAMA!”  If I figure out who is who, then I will change it)
halloween-costumes
Halloween Costumes. Lisi is Hermana Gallagher and Hermana Gallagher is Hermana Hong
young-woman
Hermana Hong and Hermana Gallagher with one of the young women.
young-woman-in-ward
Hermana Hong and another young woman. She loves them.
divisiones
Divisiones
chocolate-chip-cookies-with-laura
Chocolate Chip cookies with Laura
alfajor-de-la-panaderia
ALFAJOR DE LA PANADERIA
laura
Another Beautiful Young Woman
One thought on “Week 10: “Yea, I know that I am nothing;”

  1. Happy Birthday, Hermana Hong! We love you and know you are busy serving the wonderful people, love the pictures, the girls are so adorable. Rod just got put into the bishopric as the 1st counselor, it’s the fourth time he has been in the bishopric…so it will be good! Enjoy your day, we will pray for your investigator!

    Love, Uncle Rod and Aunt Terry

    On Mon, Oct 31, 2016 at 2:58 PM, Hermana Elisyn Hong wrote:

    > themamahong posted: ” “Yea, I know that I am nothing; as to my strength I > am weak; therefore I will not boast of myself, but I will boast of my God, > for in his strength I can do all things; yea, behold, many mighty miracles > we have wrought in this land, for which we wil” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

