Week 20: “Then sings my soul….”

“My Savior, God to Thee, How great thou art! How great thou art!” (Hymn 86) I’ve been on my mission for 20 weeks????? Um what….. This week I felt all the mission emotions. Joy, sorrow, tiredness, happiness, grossness, frustration, awe, love. I felt it all. It was a bit exhausting really.

I saw lots of miracles in the midst of some dumb trials. I think one of the biggest miracles is that one day this week I just woke up and thought, “wow I love the mission.” It was the first time that I really just loved this freaking crazy thing that I am doing. I saw a bunch of tender mercies that day. Like we were trying to meet with one of investigators, who wasn’t there, so we went to a recent convert, who also wasn’t home. And we just happened to be standing in the middle of the road deciding who to visit next, when the granddaughter of one of the members walked past and came running up to us to share the news that she can finally get baptized!!! So even though we couldn’t find anyone that we wanted to, we found a new investigator who already went to church tons and actually wants to get baptized!!! Her name is Nahiara (yes finally someone with a name just as weird as mine lol) and she is so cute.

Another tender mercy I saw was that my Stake President at home just got called to be the Mission President in the mission just south of mine! And even better, when I told my Mission President he told me that he and President Allred actually served in the same mission together! Turns out President Allred trained President Perez’s trainer, so in mission language President Allred is President Perez’s grandpa hahaha. It just kind of showed me that God really is in the details in our lives. IDK why but it brought me a lot of comfort this week.

One of my favorite tender mercies this week was that we had zone meeting this week, which means I GOT ALL MY PACKAGES AND LETTERS AND HOLY COW I AM SO LUCKY TO HAVE SUCH AN AWESOME FAN CLUB BACK HOME!!! THANK YOU ALL SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO SO MUCH FOR THE LETTERS AND PACKAGES. MY HEART IS SO HAPPY.

Then on Sunday a recent convert, Lidia, BORE HER TESTIMONY IN FAST AND TESTIMONY MEETING. I CRIED SO MUCH. LIKE THAT IS MY GIRL YESSSSSSSSSSSSSS. It helped me feel a little better even though none of our investigators came to church and I was having a bit of a rough morning.

And our last tender mercy for this week is our investigator Nice. HE IS AWESOME. He is the friend of this girl that got baptized like a year ago, and he has such a big desire to get baptized and grow closer to God. He is awesome. He already went to church two times before we even started teaching him, so he and Nahiara have baptismal dates for the 21! Please pray that they can make it to their baptism lol.

But even when we are having crazy miracles, we still have trials out here in the field. It is so weird how you just feel like crying and shouting for joy at the same time out here on the mish. One of our really strong, faithful investigators, Griselda, told us this week that she can’t meet with us anymone, because her partner/boyfriend/”marido” said she can’t anymore. That just crushed us a bit. Okay a lot. Then this whole weekend we haven’t have any water in the apartment…. So we can’t shower or wash the dishes…. or anything. But don’t worry we have water to drink hahaha but nothing else. It is not very sanitary. And I think we kind of smell….

Anyways…. I would encourage you all to go and read/watch this talk: https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2016/10/joy-and-spiritual-survival?lang=eng
It really helped me this week when I was feeling all down in the dumps!

I love you all so much, and I pray for you every freaking day.

sandwich
Fancy lunch before Zone Conference. SUCH A GOOD SANDWICH
cookies
AND COOKIES VAMOS
sam_3933
When Argentina can’t decide whether it should rain or not.
sam_3946
all my packages
Leave a Reply

