Week 23: “And now, my brethren….”

“I wish from the inmost part of my heart, yea, with great anxiety even unto pain, that ye would hearken unto my words, and cast off your sins, and not procrastinate the day of your repentance; But that ye would humble yourselves before the Lord, and call on his holy name, and watch and pray continually, that ye may not be tempted above that which ye can bear, and thus be led by the Holy Spirit, becoming humble, meek, submissive, patient, full of love and all long-suffering; Having faith on the Lord; having a hope that ye shall receive eternal life; having the love of God always in your hearts, that ye may be lifted up at the last day and enter into his rest.” (Alma 13:27-29)

This week saved my mission. To be completely honest, for the majority of my first three transfers here in Argentina I didn’t understand why I was here or why I came on a mission on the first place, but this week something just clicked. I can’t even explain what happened that helped me feel so much more comfortable and confident in my decision about serving a mission, but I love being here.

Here are a few things that capas me ayudaron tener este cambio de corazón (Helped me to have this change of heart):
WORLDWIDE MISSIONARY BROADCAST: the leaders of this church are just so good and so intune with the Spirit. It is awesome. This week all of the missionaries in the world got to tune in and listen to the apostles and the rest of the missionary council. It was so inspiring. They taught us more about the doctrine of Christ (fe, arrepentimiento, bautismo, don del Espíritu Santo, y perseverar hasta el fin–Faith, repentence, baptism, gift of the Holy Ghost, and persevere to the end) and even though I teach and study this every day my mind was blown like wooooooooooooooow the gospel is so good. I left the broadcast feeling inspired to just go out and testify like crazy. ((((real quick a side note sobre esta transmisión mundial (about the worldwide broadcast)…. we were supposed to watch it with our whole zone on Wednesday so we travelled out there, and we all ate lunch together-we ate tacos so good-and then we went into the chapel to watch the video only to find that the broadcast wasn’t working…. so we all just waited for something to happen, but nothing happened….. so then we went back to Federal that night…. and we basically lost the whole day, but that’s okay.)))) One of the apostles said, “Always keep His name on your lips.” And it just hit me that I need to remember to testify of my Savior always when I am teaching. Sometimes I feel like it is so easy to get caught up in testifying of and teaching about like Joseph Smith or the Libro de Mormon that we forget that we are REPRESENTATIVES OF JESUS CHRIST and that we are really essentially helping people realize just how real our Savior is and how much He loves us.

FREAKING CLARA: okay I probably shouldn’t say freaking Clara. but that’s how we feel lots of times. To explain…. Clara has been an investigator for like 9 months, and basically we just keep running into the same wall: she doesn’t want to get baptized even though she knows it’s all true and loves everything we teach her, because she doesn’t want to change the religion of her parents. Also she says that because she is 68 years old it is too late to change. It is really frustrating. So on Friday (after the missionary broadcast) we went and taught her with a member. As we were teaching, we were just running into the same walls, and my companion was losing patience, and the member was saying that the Catholic Church is not true, and I was like crap. So I started testifying of Christ and of our divine, awesome calling as missionaries. I haven’t felt the Spirit that strong in a lesson in a long time. The problem is that it didn’t really change Clara’s mind, but it did change my mind and perspective on missionary work. I realized that I wanted to be a representative of Christ. I want to be here! So that really helped me this week.

NICO: Nico is our converso recién (recent convert). He is incredible, and all of the members here have also noticed that he has a lot of potential to be a really good member. Teaching him brought me so much joy, because he really had a desire to learn. As much as I love my other three baptisms here in Federal, Nico is special, because teaching him really helped me realize how good God is and how much we rely on Him in this work!

ADORABLE NAHIARA GOT BAPTIZED: baptisms are just always awesome. Crazy to think that I’ve been in Argentina for just under four months, and I already have four baptisms. Crazy.  I love each one of them, and I am so grateful to know them.

PERSONAL STUDY: I have a freaking strong testimony now of scripture study. I have learned so much from my daily one hour of study. I would encourage you all to increase and improve your study of the scriptures. THE SCRIPTURES ARE AWESOME.
Basically that was my week last week. This week is the last week of this transfer, and a lot of changes are coming this next week. Like 100000000 hermanas are going home at the end of this transfer and 7 hermanas are coming…. So the odds are pretty high that something is going to change…. Stay tuned!

I LOVE YOU ALL. TRUST GOD AND YOU WILL SEE MIRACLES.

 

cookies for the baptism

eating-pizza-and-watching-apostles
eating pizza and watching apostles
green-onion-pancakes
GREEN ONION PANCAKES THAT I MADE. SO FREAKING GOOD. I LOVE COOKING.
cookies-for-the-baptism
cookies for the baptism
nahiara-got-baptized
Nahiara got Baptized!!!
meatloaf
meatloafffffff

 

Leave a Reply

