Week 26: “I believe…”

“that the moment we learn to unleash the full influence of converted, covenant-keeping women, the kingdom of God will change overnight” (Sheri Dew). AMEN WOMEN POWER. YEET. Sister Oscarson from the General Young Women’s Presidency had this quote in her talk from October. Her talk was fire. I especially loved this part:

“And third, we need to study and understand temple ordinances and covenants. The temple holds a place at the very center of our most sacred beliefs, and the Lord asks that we attend, ponder, study, and find personal meaning and application individually. We will come to understand that through the ordinances of the temple, the power of godliness is manifest in our lives and that because of temple ordinances, we can be armed with God’s power, and His name will be upon us, His glory round about us, and His angels have charge over us. I wonder if we are fully drawing upon the power of those promises.” I freaking love the temple. One of the hardest things for me about being on the mission is not being able to go to the temple whenever I want hahaha. The temple is one of the biggest blessings we receive because we live during the dispensation of the fulness of times. The other day I was visiting the Stake Patriarch who lives in our branch, and he said something that I had never thought about. He said that even though the missionaries and the church had been in Argentina, they never had the fulness of the gospel until the 80’s when the temple in Buenos Aires was built. I feel so lucky to have grown up in Utah County where there are like a thousand temples and a chapel on every corner. I definitely regret not going to the temple every week when I was in junior high and high school. But I am so grateful that in college and in the months leading up to my mission I went to the temple every week. I know that I am still receiving blessings out here on my mission thanks to the decision I made about a year and a half ago to go to the temple every week!

Well if you all want to know something crazy… I come home in a year from today….. That is really weird. But don’t worry I’m still one of those newbie missionaries hahaha. I feel so lucky to be out here on the mission representing Christ every day. I’ve come to realize that one of the biggest things I’ve learned on my mission is that we should always try to emulate Christ. He is perfect in every way. If we try to develop Christlike attributes (faith, hope, patience, obedience, diligence, etc), we will be happy!

This week was a bit up and down. Our investigator, Jose Maria, didn’t go to church again yesterday, so we are a bit frustrated about that, but it’s all gooooooooood. We did find 5 new investigators, so that was awesome. One of them is Tania, and she is really great. She’s young and is willing to change and read and listen to what we have to say. Her boyfriend, Oscar, is also a new investigator, but he has less interest. Then we have Milagros who is thirteen but looks like she is 17, and when we asked her if she had heard about the Libro de Mormon she said she already has one and thinks it’s a good book. #Milagros. Ha ha ha that was funny. Then we have Diolindo and Sunilda (and I thought my name was a bit unusual). They are a cute little old couple. My companion has adopted them as her grandparents, and they love that idea 🙂 It is so cute.

But basically nothing exciting happened this week. I gave a talk yesterday and our sink and oven got fixed the other day. So we’re feeling pretty good out here in Victoria.

Oh also Hermana Gallagher, my trainer, is in my zone, so that is chill.

Peace out. Love you alllllllll. See you in a year 🙂

familia-jaimes
Familia Jaimes
raincoats-in-victoria
Raincoats in Victoria
reunited-with-hermana-gallagher-love-her
Reunited with Hermana Gallagher– LOVE HER!!!
Leave a Reply

