Week 34: “For behold, ye shall be as a whale in the midst of the sea….”

“…for the mountain waves shall dash upon you. Nevertheless, I will bring you up again out of the depths of the sea; for the winds have gone forth out of my mouth, and also the rains and the floods have I sent forth. And behold, I prepare you against these things; for ye cannot cross this great deep save I prepare you against the waves of the sea, and the winds which have gone forth, and the floods which shall come. Therefore what will ye that I should prepare for you that ye may have light when ye are swallowed up in the depths of the sea?” (Ether 2:24-25) This week I read my favorite story in the Book of Mormon again (the story about the brother of Jared and the boats), and I swear every time I read it I learn sooooooooo much. I really liked these verses, because they taught me that God gives us trials, but He also prepares us for them. My mission president always says “LA MISIÓN NO ES FACIL.” And it is true, but it is hard in weird ways. Your back hurts always, or you get sick after you eat spinach, or your investigators are just your friends, or other people’s lives make you sad, or you miss home lots, or you can’t speak the language. There are lots of trials in the mission, but it’s so easy to see that God’s hand is in the work every day. I’m just trying to remember that He has prepared me for these trials, and after the trials we reach the promised land. But throughout the trials (like the brother of Jared), we see Jesus!

Happy Easter by the way. I have decided that I really like Easter, because I get to think more about my Savior. I love my Savior, and I am grateful that I get to be on this mission and serve Him every day! It’s magical. I love it. Even though it is hard.

This week was interesting. I went to the doctor! AGAIN! Hahahaha. I love going to the doctor…… not. It takes so much time hahaha. But I will be going to the doctor lots in the next two weeks, because I have to go to physical therapy every day for two weeks. Yaaaaay. At least I can finally do SOMETHING to improve my back. It seems like the process was way too long to receive a simple repuesta, but oh well.

All our investigators seemed to have hit a wall. They are all disappearing haha. Or going to the club too much. We are teaching this family (más o menos teaching them) and their family breaks my heart. It is hard. The mom is like 50 years old and has a bunch of kids who are older and already have kids and then a daughter who is 8 years old (I keep wanting to say that they have a certain amount of years because that’s how it works in Spanish. YA FUE INGLES.) Anyways. The mom, two daughters with their kids, and the 8 year old all live together, and the mom is always “sick” but she goes to the club every night. It is so hard for me to teach them, because I just want to shake the mom and tell her to take better care of her family, but I can’t really do that hahaha. But okay.

Also this week I broke another sink, but it was the sink of a member hahah. It’s all good thought. It was an easy fix.

I love and miss you all so much. Every morning this week I woke up and thought I was at home. It was the worst. Oh well.


Hermana Elisyn Kay Hong

On mosquito-bitten,
Bruise-spotted,
Tired, swollen knees
She humbly offers
All she is
To her Master,
Who saved her.
SAM_4369
Hermana Hong and her lovely companion!
One thought on “Week 34: “For behold, ye shall be as a whale in the midst of the sea….”

  1. I’m sorry you are having so many personal trials, but then it is the hard that gives meaning to our lives, not that which is easy! It is required for true growth, humility, and a realization that we are dependent on a higher power for our very breath. I am proud of you keep fighting the good fight! As you said yourself, then come the blessings. I hope your therapy helps your back…..I’ll pray for you,
    Love, Sis Wadley

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

