Week 39: “And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him….”

“…this is the testimony, last of all, which we give of him: That he lives! For we saw him, even on the right hand of God; and we heard the voice bearing record that he is the Only Begotten of the Father—That by him, and through him, and of him, the worlds are and were created, and the inhabitants thereof are begotten sons and daughters unto God” (Doctrine and Covenants 76:22-24). Well I have borne many testimonies of Him in the last nine months as a missionary, and starting on Friday I will continue testifying of Him back at home. Unfortunately my long battle against my back has come to an end, and I am heading home. That’s a sad sentence to write. I don’t really know what to say, except that my mission has been the best nine months (I hit my nine month mark on Wednesday right before I leave haha). It has been hard, but there really is no joy that compares to being a missionary. It is incredible.

I have been thinking a lot about a lot of things since I found out I was going home. On Wednesday I had a follow-up doctors appointment to see how much PT helped and what more we could do, but due to the fact that I had been in lots of pain for like two weeks, I knew when I woke up that day that I was going home. When we went to the doctor, he told me that I should keep going to PT. I called the elder here in charge of all the doctor stuff, and he said I had to call Presidente to ask for permission. And I knew at that point that I was headed home. Presidente told me that he was going to give me until June 13th (the end of the transfer), but then the next day in the afternoon we were visiting Norma (the menos activa who invited us to 2 asados) and learning how to knit, when Presidente called and told me that I was going home on Thursday the 25th. It was hard news to hear, but I felt a lot of peace. I truly feel like this is God’s will. I feel sadder than sad, but I also feel really good. I have thought a lot about all the things I have been able to do in my mission and all the changes I have seen in myself, and I really think that I have accomplished what He needed me to do.

It’s like the parable of the laborers in the vineyard in Matthew 20. Some people served the whole time and others only for a few hours, but they all received the same rewards. The householder was equally grateful for all of their service. I may not be able to serve for the full 18-months, but I was able to serve a full-time mission. I dedicated all of my short 9 months to Him. I strived every day to represent Jesus Christ. I truly feel like I have come to know Him while I have been out here in Argentina. I remember leaving on my mission feeling like I would be paying a bit of my debt to Him for all that He has done for me, but I have realized that in the last 9 months I have received more blessings than I have received in my whole life hahaha. I will never be able to repay Him, but I will always be able to serve Him. I was blessed to sing in General Conference, which accomplished one of my lifelong dreams. I had the most incredible companions-Hermana Barlow, Hermana Gallagher, Hermana Tinsley, Hermana Maidana, and Hermana Verdeja. I learned so much from them. I got to meet AMAZING people here in Argentina. The people here are just the best. Super humble and always wanting to serve. The members here are super loving and have the strongest testimonies. I can’t even list all the blessings I have received, because there have been so many. I AM SO HAPPY WITH MY MISSION. I don’t feel like a failure at all. I just feel so grateful. So so so grateful for all that my Heavenly Father and Savior have given me. I might be at the end of my mission, but I am not going to stop serving Them every day. I love this gospel so much.

Sé que Jesucristo es mi Salvador. Sé que esta es SU obra. Sé que he estado representandole cada día por estos 9 meses, y nada me hace más feliz. Sé que Dios es Nuestro Padre Celestial. Sé que tiene un plan perfecto por cada uno de nosotros. Sé que Jesucristo vive y que gracias a Él y Su sacrificio podemos estar con nuestras familias para SIEMPRE. Tengo tanta fe y esperanza en mi Salvador y Padre Celestial que sé que todo va a estar bien! CONFIEN EN ELLOS. Han sido mi “fortaleza y mi canción.” No puedo hacer nada sin ellos. No sería nadie sin Su ayuda. Les agradeceré para siempre por mi misión y por el evangelio y todas las personas maravillosas aquí en Argentina. Sé que esta es Su iglesia. Sé que Thomas S. Monson es un profeta llamado por Él. Sé que el evangelio trae paz. Amo a mi Salvador. AMO A MI SALVADOR. AMO A MI SALVADOR. 

Thank you all for your continual support, prayers, and fasting. Coming home won’t be super easy, but I am happy. I love you all and I will see you real soon!

Hermana Elisyn Kay Hong

On mosquito-bitten,
Bruise-spotted,
Tired, swollen knees
She humbly offers
All she is
To her Master,
Who saved her.
SAM_4510SAM_4515SAM_4525SAM_4532SAM_4534

 

One thought on “Week 39: “And now, after the many testimonies which have been given of him….”

  1. Dear Sweet Sister Hong,

    You have served well, you have shared the gospel with many who would have missed the opportunity if you had not been there. We are happy to know you can return home for further treatment for your back, so welcome home! Love, Uncle Rod and Aunt Terry

    Like

Leave a Reply

